Posted on: January 12, 2023 Posted by: admin Comments: 0
Top Cricket Competitions

Cricket is one of the world’s most beloved and well-followed sports. Every four years, cricket fans from all over the globe eagerly await the arrival of the world’s top cricket competitions, eagerly anticipating the best matchups with the most talented players. For any cricket fan, the anticipation leading up to the top tournaments of the year is palpable. As per today sports news India here is a list of cricket competitions.

Indian  Premier League 

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the world’s premier cricket competitions and has become the most-watched sport in India, as well as one of the most popular sports in the world. Founded in 2008, the competition is a Twenty20-style cricket event, and it’s become one of the most financially successful sports leagues in the world, with an average season attendance of nearly five million. During a typical IPL season, eight teams representing eight different cities play each other twice, and at the end of the season, the top four teams enter an elimination round. Over the years, some of the world’s best cricket players have graced the IPL, with some notable players like Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni all having had a stint in the league. 

India’s Premier League, or IPL, is the top-tier cricketing competition in India. Every year, the IPL pits eight of the best teams in the country against each other in a full-fledged battle for supremacy. Most of the teams in the IPL are owned by corporate giants, with some featuring international stars such as MS Dhoni and Sachin Tendulkar. The high-stakes games featuring world-class players, as well as the massive fanfare that comes along with the games, make the IPL one of the most popular competitions in the country.  As a completely Indian-based competition, the IPL’s fan base is the largest of any cricket competition in the world.  

 England’s County Championship

The County Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious English domestic cricket competitions. The championship is divided into four tiers, with the first tier being the most important. The teams participating in this competition represent the most well-known cricketing counties in England, including Yorkshire, Lancashire, and Essex. The championship typically runs from mid-April to mid-September and each participating team competes against each other in a two-day format. The team that accumulates the highest number of points at the end of the tournament has crowned the champion. 

Australia’s Big Bash League

The Big Bash League is a Twenty20 competition based in Australia that has been running since 2011. It is the country’s premier domestic cricket competition, with teams from all over the country competing for supremacy. The competition is made up of eight teams from Australia’s most populated cities. Each year, teams from New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Queensland, and Western Australia genuinely battle for the glory of becoming the champion. The competition has gained a large international following, making it one of the largest cricket competitions in the world. 

South Africa’s Ram Slam T20 Challenge

The Ram Slam T20 Challenge is South Africa’s premier Twenty20 competition. The tournament began in 2003 and is made up of six teams from different parts of the country. The competition features multinational stars such as AB DeVilliers and Dale Steyn and receives an incredible amount of international attention. The tournament is known for its fiercely competitive matches, with teams playing hard to become the champion. It is also known for its vibrant atmosphere, with the stands being packed for each game. 

India’s Deodhar Trophy

The Deodhar Trophy is a Day Competition based in India, now in its 42nd edition. The competition was established in 1973 and is contested by India’s zonal teams. This competition is typically held during the winter months, as it features some of the best players that India has to offer. The tournament sees teams compete to become the champion, with the final taking place between the two strongest zonal teams.

Pakistan Super League

The Pakistan Super League is a Twenty20 cricket competition based in Pakistan. The competition was launched in 2015 and features six teams from the country’s major cities. It is Pakistan’s premier domestic cricket tournament and has managed to attract fans from all over the world. The tournament sees top-level international sides such as Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, and Peshawar Zalmi compete in an exciting competition for the title of champion. 

 The Ashes Series 

The Ashes Series is a highly regarded cricket series that has been played between Australia and England since 1882. Especially amongst the British, the Ashes Series resembles a historical rivalry, with the two teams trading the urn-shaped trophy with each other. Since the series began, each nation has chewed out and won four Ashes, with the most recent one being in the 2015-16 season. The latest iteration of the series has seen the taste of the rivalry rage more than ever before, with some of the most memorable moments being provided by the likes of Jonathan Trott, Michael Clarke, and Alastair Cook. As cricket fans will tell you, the Ashes Series is where legends are born and heroes are formed. 

The Big Bash League 

The Big Bash League (BBL) is an international cricket competition that was formed in 2011 in Australia. It is a Twenty20-style tournament and is regarded as one of the world’s most entertaining cricket competitions, with a mix of renowned players, new talent, and exciting partnerships shining through each season. The purpose of the BBL was to try and attract a new crowd to the sport, and it seems to have succeeded in that regard, as the competition has already seen over a million spectators since its inception. Players to have been involved in the BBL so far include Chris Gayle, AB De Villiers, and Shane Watson. 

The Caribbean Premier League 

The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league that is contested between six teams from across the Caribbean Islands. The competition was founded in 2013, with each season bringing a diverse mix of players, teams, and cricket history to the game. It’s become a melting pot for the best cricketers in the world, with teams composed of veteran players as well as some talented youngsters looking to make a name for themselves. Some of the biggest names to have been involved in the CPL include Brian Lara, Kieron Pollard, and Sunil Narine. 

The Bangladesh Premier League

The Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) was founded in 2012 and is the top professional cricket league in Bangladesh. Like many of the other professional cricket tournaments in the world, the BPL is a Twenty20 competition, but one that has already seen some of the world’s best cricketers play. Since its inception, the BPL has played host to some of the best talents from around the world, such as Shane Watson, Shakib Al-Hasan, and Eoin Morgan. Although Bangladesh isn’t typically thought of as a major player in the world of cricket, the BPL has provided a platform for some of the most talented players in the sport to hone their skills, helping to make Bangladesh a great cricketing nation.


Cricket has long been recognized as one of the world’s most popular sports and its top competitions attract millions of viewers from around the globe. From India’s Premier League to South Africa’s Ram Slam T20 Challenge, each competition brings something unique and special to the cricketing experience. As more fans get the opportunity to watch these competitions, the popularity of the sport will continue to grow. Follow todays sports news in English for comprehensive data on cricket.